Thieme–IUPAC Prize in Synthetic Organic Chemistry 2014

Actu Chimie
Thieme–IUPAC Prize in Synthetic Organic Chemistry 2014

Call for Nominations
Thieme Chemistry, IUPAC, and the Editors of SYNTHESIS, SYNLETT, SYNFACTS, and Science of Synthesis announce the Thieme–IUPAC Prize for 2014. This award is presented every two years on the occasion of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry – International Conference on Organic Synthesis (IUPAC–ICOS). The 2014 ICOS will be held in Hungary, Budapest, on June 29 – July 4. The prize is awarded to a scientist under 40 years of age whose research has had a major impact in synthetic organic chemistry.
Prize € 5000
The Thieme–IUPAC Prize has been awarded to Stuart L. Schreiber in 1992, Paul Knochel in 1994, Eric N. Jacobsen in 1996, Andrew G. Myers in 1998, Alois Fürstner in 2000, Erick M. Carreira in 2002, John F. Hartwig in 2004, David W. C. MacMillan in 2006, F. Dean Toste in 2008, Phil S. Baran in 2010, and Melanie S. Sanford in 2012.
The prize will be awarded on the basis of scientific merit for independent research dealing with synthesis in the broadest context of organic chemistry, including organometallic chemistry, medicinal and biological chemistry, designed molecules, and materials. Candidates must be under 40 years of age as of January 1 of the year in which the prize is awarded.
Proposals must be accompanied by a biographical sketch of the nominee, a list of the candidate’s ten most significant publications, and a statement of how the candidate’s research has had a major impact on the field of synthetic organic chemistry. The material will be confidentially forwarded to an independent selection committee.
Nomination materials should be submitted by e-mail to
Deadline : December 13, 2013

Déjà membre de la SCF ?